Tuning Notes

I have just reworked this page to reflect current (2020) preferences.
Browsers no longer permit pages to play sound files automatically. The old bgsound and autoplay codings are no longer valid.
There is more standardsation now. The differences between Internet Explorer and the rest...
primarily Netscape and Firefox have been resolved now that HTML5 has been introduced.
The previous pages still exist for you to try if this one does not work for you.


Allow a little time for downloading.
'Flat' notes share the same pitch as the 'Sharp' note (#) immediately below (to the left of) the name you want.
ie. B flat is the same as A#, A sharp. *

These notes are the first register of the descant (soprano) recorder.

* Unfortunately, this is not strictly true. I have added this footnote to deflect the righteous indignation of those who already know this. Further comment is well beyond the scope of this page. To find out more regarding the intricacies of tuning follow this link.

If you would like to download an excellent tuning meter follow this link and select the third item (with the green and yellow icon).

If you lose the note window (by not using the 'STOP'or 'CLOSE PAGE' button) you will find it in your task bar.

If the buttons above do not produce sounds for you, click
Not all browsers work the same way as Internet Explorer,
you may need 'plugins'.